Using different scispaCy models with MedCAT

Hello all,

I am a Data Scientist working in the NHS UK. I’m working on NER-L using MedCAT.

Has anyone successfully used different scispacy models with any existing MedCAT modelpack? I tried installing the new model and replacing the model name like below in the cat config:

cat.config.general['spacy_model'] = "en_core_sci_md"

However, based on the performance, I suspect that this might not be the best way to do this. I request anyone who has experienced this to share their thoughts! Thanks in advance.

Hi @Prajwal_Khairnar,

Not sure why you are looking to use: “en_core_sci_md”
We migrated away from that version previously as that version is now unsupported.
There is very little difference to “en_core_web_md”

You will not see any major difference unless you train the model.

Hi Anthony,

Thanks a lot for your response. I appreciate your time.

Based on testing the various spacy models (without MedCAT, just a spacy NER pipeline) on sample data, I observed the differences like below for instance:

MedCAT modelpack using en_core_web_md:

NER spacy pipeline using en_core_sci_md:

I am trying to understand if I can achieve the performance for entity recognition like second case within MedCAT as my primary concern is the performance on entity recognition.

I’d appreciate any advice from your end. Thanks in advance.
Regards,
Prajwal

~WRD0000.jpg

image001.png

MedCAT entity recognition is dictionary based. Each concept in the CDB is mapped to one or more “names” (aliases is frequently also used in other works to describe these entries). If any of these aliases are present in the text, it will be an entity candidate. If the alias is only mapped to one CUI then it will be an immediate match otherwise, there will need to be a disambiguation step in order to determine which of multiple CUIs.