CT thorax reports from Brompton

Hello everyone,

I am a data analyst at Royal Brompton hospital currently with about 15000 CT thorax reports. I would like to use MedCAT to analyse these reports. I am looking to see if MedCAT can identify positive/negative/suspect about the following terms.

• Bronchiectasis – subterms would be mild/moderate/severe, central, varicose, cylindrical and if possible indication of localisation (i.e. upper, lower, middle lobes, bilateral, panlobar, localised etc)
• Cavity
• Mycetoma; aspergilloma
• Fungal ball
• Nodule – subterms would be cavitatory or cavitating
• Pleural thickening
• Consolidation
• Collapse
• Fibrosis
• Mucus plugging or tree-in-bud change
• Ground glass
• bronchocele

I have also attach a screenshot of where I am currently with MedCAT. I know I can copy and paste each CT report in manually, but I was wondering if there was any way to process all 15000 reports at once, and give me +ve/-ve/suspect values for the aforementioned terms?

Zhendan Shang
2022 May 10th

Hi Zhendan,

In short, the MedCAT user interface is one of the initial steps to create a labelled dataset. This labelled dataset is used to both train and validate the performance of the model on a sample of your dataset. (in your case 129 documents out of 15000).

The actual training and annotation process will occur outside of the User interface. Once your sample of document is annotated. In the “Project annotate entities” tab select all relevant annotation projects to your use case and select “export”. Now you have a labelled MedCATtrainer dataset.

Since you are using an open source model you can directly interchange the the models, MedCATtrainer export, and dataset within scripts found within the MedCAT tutorials. Just be sure to add your relevant concept filter.

Supervised training
Tutorial 4.2 demonstrates how to train a model from a export from the MedCATtrainer (the MedCAT UI), and how to save your newly trained model.